The Cherie Hearts SPIRAL Literacies Curriculum, inspired by the New London Group academic theory of “Pedagogy of Multi-literacies” which addresses literacy pedagogy appropriate to our times, expands the focus of literacy beyond reading and writing such that children are more holistically developed – socially, emotionally, creatively, financially, computationally, cognizantly and discerningly.

Developed in-house, the SPIRAL Literacies Curriculum, equips children with critical 21st century skills for living and lifelong learning, essentially helping them to adapt to a rapidly changing globalised world where demographics and technological advancement drive the future. The skill sets taught include thinking skills, managing self, relating to others, and contributing to, not merely participating in society.

In line with the Cherie Hearts’ philosophy, five key components in SPIRAL enhance children’s holistic growth and ensure they experience personal success while developing a joy for learning:

Civic-Social Literacy 

Develops civic consciousness in children and teaches effective communication and social skills.


Digital Literacy 

Promotes digital savviness and computational thinking for our children.



Financial Literacy 

Helps children understand the financial concepts of Save, Spend & Share and how these relate to each other in significant ways.


Critical Literacy 

Develops in children a critical questioning approach while honing their creativity and ability to analyse.


Environmental Literacy 

Develops an awareness for the environment and healthy sense of respect for living and non-living things.


Multi-literacy elements are weaved into the core curriculum which is delivered through a thematic approach, planned in progression over the various age levels from Playgroup to Kindergarten 2. This facilitates continuous learning because each lesson is built upon the previous lesson and the children’s prior knowledge. On top of this, designated time slots are dedicated to the delivery of each one of the five multi-literacies for the Nursery to Kindergarten 2 children, to address the multi-literacies in a more targeted manner.

Our Services

The curriculum is carried out in a conducive learning environment where children are given opportunities to explore and extend their learning through various learning centres. The activities, materials and games in the learning centres are specially designed to engage children in their thinking and active learning. This helps support the planned lessons, reinforces concepts by revisiting, and promotes self-directed, independent and cooperative play and learning.

Cherie Hearts centres provide care and education for children aged 8 weeks to 6 years old through the following programmes:

Infant Care (8 weeks to 1.5 years)

Our specialised infant and toddler curriculum provides ample opportunities for children to develop through many first experiences.

Our rooms are specially designed to encourage our infants and toddlers to explore and discover their environments.

The developmental domains that set the foundation for infants and toddlers are:

  • Language and Communication
  • Cognitive
  • Social
  • Emotional
  • Physical

Many aspects of development occur in more than one domain. Exploration, perception, communication, mobility, self-competence, trust, relationships, independence and impulse control (around 18 months) are all goals of development for infants and toddlers.

The My First Journey curriculum consists of activities that stimulate the development of the various domains to meet the needs of every infant and toddler. With My First Journey, infants and toddlers encounter a collection of first experiences and it also recognises the most important ‘things’ in a child’s environment are stable, loving, attentive educators.

Playgroup    (1.5 years to 2.5 years)
Pre-Nursery (2.5 years to 4 years)

Children in Playgroups 1 & 2 take part in the Jump Start Years Curriculum. This curriculum introduces various learning experiences to develop children’s development in the following areas:

  • Fine Motor Skills
  • Cognitive Domain
  • Gross Motor Skills
  • Language Acquisition
  • Aesthetic & Affective Domains

Cherie Hearts ensure our rooms are specially designed to encourage learning and development for children aged 1.5 to 4 years.

Nursery             (4 years)
Kindergarten 1 ( 5 years)
Kindergarten 2 (6 years)

The Bridging Years Curriculum enhances what the children have been exposed to in the Jump Start Years programme, bringing children’s learning to a higher level by introducing more complex, new and varied experiences. The learning experiences provided develop children’s various intelligences as identified in the following areas as well as prepares them for 21st century challenges:

  • Aesthetic & Creative Expression
  • Environmental Awareness
  • Language & Literacy
  • Motor Development
  • Mathematical Thinking
  • Self & Social Awareness

The more targeted multi-literacies experiences introduced in the Bridging Years curriculum engage children in inquiring and questioning what they see, hear, listen and read, prompting them to consider different perspectives.

In addition to the Jump Start Years curriculum, Cherie Hearts also runs a specialised School Readiness programme. The School Readiness Programme for Kindergarten 2 children is a holistic approach designed specially to help the children transit smoothly from pre-school to the formal system in Primary School. The School Readiness Programme will emphasize on academic achievements, nurture and prepare children for the social and emotional adjustments that they will face in a Primary One school setting.

Emergency care services  (8 weeks to 12 years)

For your convenience, emergency care services are available. However, this is subject to vacancies at individual centres

Enrichment Programmes

Our childcare centres provide a wide range of enrichment programmes in the afternoon to cater to each child’s holistic development. Please approach your Centre to enquire on the enrichment classes available, e.g. performing arts, visual arts, abacus, sports & music programmes. Enrichment fees are in addition to the school fees.